Skip navigation

Ponder, scribble, erase, ponder, scribble, scribble, ponder, erase… I can remember every building block swoop and dash on every sketch I’ve ever drawn.  Each brush stroke on my painting too and how many time I reworked every passage on everything I’ve written. It’s the result of passion in creating. What you do marks you back for every blunder and every success. If it didn’t there would be a whole lot less creating going on in the world, that’s a promise.

The things I do are intricate for my level, whatever that is, because I hate creating things in my comfort zone. When I do I am highly dissatisfied and if what’s wrong isn’t alterable I pitch the whole thing and either start over or move on. Frequently I move on because  if what I drew didn’t inspire me enough to try hard the first time I know it will do less for the the second. These “rule” I have do two very important things for me. They dictate that I always am pushing myself into new realms of art styles and thus higher up in my own. It means I learn better what inspires me, which really, means I learn more about myself, I get to know me better. A good passion brings enjoyment, a great passion brings frustrated enlightenment.

I feel proud about my work, I like seeing other peoples reaction to it. I can point to a short curve in a piece and exclaim “Look, look how this simple thing gives depth to the whole!” Noted, I battle to not let that proud feeling turn into a pride issue, not too hard since most of what I do I tend to keep to myself and those I’m close to. I think God created a fine line between the two very purposefully but, that’s not where I’m headed here so we’ll get back on track.

Proud of what I accomplished, I love what I do and I love what I create. I can look at a sketch and an entire period of time can come back to me, where I was, who I was with, why I chose to draw my subject, and entire entity surrounds everything I create and even though it’s my entity each drawing still has it’s own unique essence of identity. Some of my old favorites are the drawings I make in a series, even the oldest ones that pale in talent compared to what I’ve achieved now bring back fondness. Each is individually given the attention to stand on it’s own but none reach their full potential until viewed together because relation in art tells a story, creates not only an little identity on paper but a community and a strength of purpose.

People are designed the exact same way. There is not a cellular mechanism in any of us that God can’t account for and say, “I’m not sure I recall doing that.” Every mitochondria is noted and when He sees it He points and says “Look, see here, this was important, it gives the piece it’s movement, its energy!” The physical details in us that haven’t been discovered yet God delights over and trust me, science can’t put a nail in why we yawn, hiccup or have an appendix, theres stuff out there, i.e. in us, that going to blow some scientist mind when they discover it in 2457. 

People are also designed in a series, beautiful, delicate sometimes, powerful images sometimes, on our own, there is no comparison for the collection as a whole, none what so ever. We give each other strength, we compliment each others design, as a unit we give each other a purpose that would be entirely absent when each stands apart. 

This struck me in a very applicable way this Sunday. God asks us to care for the orphan, widow, the sick, to give water to the thirsty, to feed the hungry, to cloth the naked. To give of ourselves to strengthen and comfort others. This Sunday myself, my husband and the majority of our church, joined the bone marrow registry. Called “Be the Match” this organization catalogs dNA and blood types and keeps them on record. Every time another person gets Leukemia and is in need of a marrow infusion or transplant this is the place where hospitals go. Family members of these individuals are not always a match only 30% can rely on a family member, the rest rely on strangers who they will never meet to survive so they can stop being sick and go back to being moms, dads, siblings, husbands, wives, leaders and workers.

The over all survival rate for all types of leukemia (combined or averaged out) today is only 50%.

http://www.marrow.org I would encourage those of you who read this, who have not heard of or considered this before, to go the website to become more informed and prayerfully consider joining or donating to the registry.

I.F.

One Comment

  1. Powerful stuff! You amaze me at how you are able to boild things down to the what's really important. I'm always excited to see what you've written. I was so thrilled to be able to join the bone marrow registry. My Dad had a bone marrow issue where it quit producing red blood cells. He wasn't a candidate for a transplant, but received 2 units of blood every week. I am a regular blood donor and was thrilled with the possiblity of helping someone else through a bone marrow donation.


Leave a Reply

