Skip navigation

Here is my home baked graham cracker accompaniment!
 Home made Marshmallow
Ingredients:
3 tablespoons unflavored gelatin (it’s sold as 4 packets in a box, you’ll need 3 packets)
1 1/2 cups water
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup corn syrup
1/4 tsp salt
2 tablespoon vanilla

May I point out that I wrote the recipe as stated in the book I found it in had it. I didn’t follow this to a T. I only used 1 tablespoon vanilla and I made a corn syrup substitute of water and sugar since I never buy corn syrup.
Also you do need a candy or stove top safe thermometer.

Take half the water (3/4 cup) put in a mixing bowl and sprinkle gelatin on top of it. Let it set 10 minutes.

While it’s setting put sugar, syrup and salt in a pot on the stove and heat it until 245 degrees stirring constantly. When it reaches temp remove from heat.

Using an electric mixer mix gelatin on low and slowly add syrup a few tablespoons at a time.(I used my 1/4 cup measurer.) Once it’s all mixed turn up to high and mix until shiny. (That is really what the book says, I’ll be honest, I have no idea what that means I beat it until the consistency stopped changing)
Add vanilla, mix until combined then pour into a 9 by 13 inch pan that has been oiled (veggie oil, don’t use olive cause it’ll leave a flavor) Put in the fridge over night to set.
Once set cut into pieces with a scissor (dip in hot water to keep from being sticky) and roll in powdered sugar.

Okay guys, pictures will be updated officially tomorrow after they’re done for real!
                                  *****
Well, no pics mostly because it was an epic fail. lol. It settled funny and was marshmallowy on top and just marshmallow jello on the bottom. We tried it and my hubs described its texture as too snot like for consumption.
You can’t win them all.

One Comment

  1. I've been wanting to make both of those. Fun fun 🙂


Leave a Reply

