Skip navigation

Behold, a photo of my old coffee grinder! 

   It has been sitting in the back of a shelf in my kitchen, being ignored in the presence of my newer, shinier, better coffee grinder. You may have noticed it looks dirty, as if, suddenly it were being used again. Those wise in the ways of science may be saying to yourselves that it is not dirtied with coffee grounds. You would be correct and invited to join me on my quest…if I had one which I don’t, not at the moment.

   Back to the tan stuff in the grinder. It’s coriander, from my garden, that I planted, tended, harvested, dried, toasted and then ground up to be stored in a McCormick spice jar that had run out of coriander of its own to hold. I never realized how not ground up into a powder spices and herbs are in their natural state before I started growing them. Now I know better. There is no real moral to this little story other then showing off how clever I am at making things not stay in their natural state. Which isn’t really moral since it’s really just gloating, on the internet, which is not even original, but I don’t have to be because I have conquered a new life skill, or hobby or what ever.
 
   What I am is happy that I found a way to crush coriander seeds without a mortar and pestle, which I don’t have, (even though I totally am going to get a set eventually because they remind me of Baba Yaga and I think I would make an awesome witch, not like a wiccan – I’m pretty sure I’d make a horrible wiccan – the other kind, the good fairy sort of witch that gives the heroine a magic shield that defeats the dragons fire and ensures she never breaks another finger nail ever again) or a hammer, which seems like not the best option to me, personally, as a person who can’t be responsible with things like tools…or kitchens.

One Comment

  1. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again


Leave a Reply

