Skip navigation

Stuff like this is why I don’t take, by and large, the modern traditional Christian publishing market seriously. The best Christian fiction I’ve read that’s been published this century has been self-pub. I don’t expect that to change any time soon.

Just Another Pretty Farce

I’m a sucker for book awards. Ever since I read Island Of The Blue Dolphins as a child and saw that “Newberry Medal” on the cover I was programmed. A gold seal on a book meant a good story. To this day I hunt down the Edgar, Man Booker, Orange Prize and Pulitzer short lists every year, searching for that fantastic read.

I’ve been very open about not preferring Inspirational Fiction as a genre as I find it too didactic in general and feel the quality often suffers from its inherently narrow market strictures. Over the past two years as I’ve come to know more authors of Inspirational Fiction I’ve read more of it and even fallen in love with some terrific examples of the genre. The book I hold in high esteem as being the example of what good Inspirational Fiction can be is Catherine Marshall’s Christy.*

I…

View original post 983 more words

Leave a Reply

